Inofolic

Hi gals,

Ive had such an excellent response to my post on Inofolic, within a couple of hours Joni and Robz had both sent me info on it. Robz even ordered it for me through her pharmacy – thank you dear friend. For those that would like to know Inofolic can be ordered through Dischem at a cost of R290 for 30 sachets. DONT go to the vitamin counter because they just give you blank stares, you need to go through the dispensary AND a portion of it goes through medical aid – whoo hoo!

Now what is the hype all about? I found an article on the net regarding PCOS and ICSI cycles. A doctor in Italy I think it was has done controlled randomised studies to determine that giving IVF?ICSI patients myo-inositol combined with folic acid (Inofolic) resulted in better quality eggs and better pregnancy rates. I have copied the abstract from the paper below:

Myo-inositol may improve oocyte quality in intracytoplasmic sperm injection cycles. A prospective, controlled, randomized trial.

IVF unit, Gynecologic-Obstetric Department, Istituto di Ricovera e Cura a Carattere Scientifico, San Raffaele Hospital, Vita-Salute University, Milan, Italy.

OBJECTIVE: To determine the effects of myo-inositol on oocyte quality in polycystic ovary syndrome (PCOS) patients undergoing intracytoplasmic sperm injection (ICSI) cycles. DESIGN: A prospective, controlled, randomized trial. SETTING: Assisted reproduction centers. PATIENT(S): Sixty infertile PCO patients undergoing ovulation induction for ICSI. INTERVENTION(S): All participants underwent standard long protocol. Starting on the day of GnRH administration, 30 participants received myo-inositol combined with folic acid (Inofolic) 2 g twice a day and 30 control women received folic acid alone, administrated continuously. MAIN OUTCOME MEASURE(S): Primary end points were number of morphologically mature oocytes retrieved, embryo quality, and pregnancy and implantation rates. Secondary end points were total number of days of FSH stimulation, total dose of gonadotropin administered, E(2) level on the day of hCG administration, fertilization rate per number of retrieved oocytes, embryo cleavage rate, live birth and miscarriage rates, cancellation rate, and incidence of moderate or severe ovarian hyperstimulation syndrome. RESULT(S): Total r-FSH units (1,958 +/- 695 vs. 2,383 +/- 578) and number of days of stimulation (11.4 +/- 0.9 vs. 12.4 +/- 1.4) were significantly reduced in the myo-inositol group. Furthermore, peak E(2) levels (2,232 +/- 510 vs. 2,713 +/- 595 pg/mL) at hCG administration were significantly lower in patients receiving myo-inositol. The mean number of oocytes retrieved did not differ in the two groups, whereas in the group cotreated with myo-inositol the mean number of germinal vesicles and degenerated oocytes was significantly reduced (1.0 +/- 0.9 vs. 1.6 +/- 1.0), with a trend for increased percentage of oocytes in metaphase II (0.82 +/- 0.11% vs. 0.75 +/- 0.15%). CONCLUSION(S): These data show that in patients with PCOS, treatment with myo-inositol and folic acid, but not folic acid alone, reduces germinal vesicles and degenerated oocytes at ovum pick-up without compromising total number of retrieved oocytes. This approach, reducing E(2) levels at hGC administration, could be adopted to decrease the risk of hyperstimulation in such patients.

For our last IVF we used inositol only but Dr V wants me to try the Inofolic for the next cycle, so I will start when I start on my next pack of BCP’s. Dr V attended a conference in Spain this year and apparently listened to this doctor present his paper on Inofolic. I cant say whether it did make a difference last cycle but I’m basically willing to try anything at this stage.

To M Im so incredibly sorry to hear about your BFN, please take care of yourself. It is just so incredibly sad.

21 comments so far

  1. Shaz on

    Can you send me some information about Inofolic and Inositol? I understand that its been tested for PCOS but what about general egg quality? Both my FS’s have long suspected I have an egg quality issue and now I’m wondering if this isn’t worth a try?

  2. April on

    wonder how you can get it in the States? I’ve never heard of it before. 😦

  3. Tam on

    Sounds promising!!

    I’m sorry that I haven’t been here for you, I’ve been in my own world as you know.

    So happy to hear that you starting your next IVF so soon, I wish that we could come to some kind of agreement as to when our next one will be but so be it.

    I miss our chat’s too, I’ll call you soon…promise 🙂

  4. Maritza on

    Excellent! Thanks for this, was wondering where I would get some…

  5. Tanya Nel on

    Hi there

    i have never been to your blog, this is my first visit. ! Thanks! I love your stories

    just wanted to ask you a quick question about Inofolic? I take 2 sachets in water in the morning! Am I suppose to take 1 in the morning and 1 in the evening? Will this make a difference! Dr V only told me to take 4g per day and not how I should take it.

    Little about myself! – 2 IVF’s 1 Gift no BFP. Now doing FET. Started the Inofolic 10 days ago.

    Thanks

    Have a great day
    Tanya

  6. Nadir on

    So folks, where can you get Infolic from? My Pharmacy connections do appear to be able to have a line as how and where you can get it?
    Would be most grateful for the information
    Thanks

  7. PAM on

    Please can I hve information about infolic

  8. PAM on

    please advise information about infolic

  9. Liesel Gaffley on

    Hi i am currently on inofolic and taking it now for 1 month and half and i feel that its working for me, i will take this until i get my positive result. My medical aid covers fully for the sachets and you can get them at dischem as well. I feel its working for me…

  10. Anneline on

    If you take the Inofolic, is it possible to fall pregnant without going for IVF?

    • IZEL on

      Hi there!
      I bought myself Inofolic from Dischem. I used 20 sachets and guess what?? After one month I was pregnant. We’ve been struggling to fall pregnant since April 2008. So I say it definitaly works!!!!

  11. Tumi on

    Hi;

    My gynae gave me inofolic as well, i’ve been on it since 11/02/2010. i lost my baby in August to cyctic hygroma at 13 weeks pegnancy . Before this pregancy i have been TTC for 7 yrs and was on clomid treatment. My cycle since the baby loss is very irregular and am worried, how many sachets to i have to take? advice- does taking more yield better results?

  12. desperately ttc on

    can somebody pls tell me which medical aid will cover the inofolic?

  13. Melissa on

    I tried Inofolic for PCOS and it definitely worked. Just as my dr said it would. And the best part is that it didn’t give me any bad side effects.

  14. martina86 on

    buy inofolic here contacting Lo.li. Pharma (Rome)at:
    info@lolipharma.it

    I m italian but I live in London and the only way to get inofolic is this at the moment.

  15. Tumi on

    Hi Ladies,

    I’ve been having irregular cycles eversince. So I stopped taking medication in December, 2010. Jan & Feb didn’t have any periods. So in March I started spotting and one the ladies in ttcing forum advise me to take inofolic. I took it, it’s almost two week now I’m on it. Can you please tell whether it can cause you to bleed non stop. As I’m still having my periods with big clots (sorry it’s disgusting) Can I still go on to take it or should I stop. I don’t want to go to the gyna as he’ll give me the drugs that my body doesn’t need right now.

  16. S on

    Hi, i started taking inofolic yesterday and have been getting non stop headaches (mild headaches, but constant). Has anyone experienced this? Just checking if this is normal. I also have PCOS, and i’m insulin resistant and trying to have a child from January 2011 with no success. Hope this works.

  17. Elana on

    Hi All,

    I have PCOS and haven’t had a period in 12 months. I then started to take Inofolic. After only 2 months I had my first period!
    Inofolic is assisting with hormonal imbalances, but in a natural way.
    It also helps to control your weight. It is very important to take 1 sachet in them morning and 1 in the evening. You almost have no results when you only drink 1 sachet.

    When I forget to take my inofolic for a while, I can see the impact on my cycles, it usually either stops or my cycle is +50 days and longer.
    As soon as start to drink it twice again, my cycle starts to be more regular.

    I am on inofolic now for almost 2 years and it really works for irregular periods. I am still not pregnant though, so I don’t think you should expect miracles from a natural product as Inofolic.

  18. Anna-B on

    Hello,
    My gynae prescribed inofolic and staminagro. 2 of my friends fell pregnant after using it for 3 months. I drink 1 sachet of inofolic and me and hubby drink 4 staminagro’s each at night. I researched both and I can say that I have read only positives about these 2 products.
    Good luck Ladies 😉

  19. Marta on

    Is Inofolic sold anywhere in Italy or just in Rome? For me, Trieste is the closest! Thanks!!!

  20. Mum to be hopefully on

    Hi Ladies. is Inofolic only prescribed for PCOS or also to get your cycles in order. One doctor did diagnose me with PCOS and the Gynae i now go to says there is no evidence of PCOS at all and i also do not have any symptoms. My periods are regular etc etc.


Leave a comment