Blogging Rules – is there such a thing?

Its hard to know what to say at this stage. I know from past experience that once a blogger achieves a BFP, I very often either stop reading or simply delete the blog from my reader. There are obviously a few BFP blogs that I have continued to read (fellow VETS) and try to comment where I can but there have been times in this journey that I simply couldn’t bear to open up a blog and see the scan update or symptom watch or *cringe* belly pic.

I also don’t want to be one of those bloggers that just goes quiet. I love my blog and wouldn’t like to just stop. During my many “down” times I have found a blog that has a similar story line to mine and I used to love reading that they were x weeks into a very hard earned pregnancy or just given birth etc etc. This helped to keep the hope alive, which is why I also don’t want to stop blogging.

I will promise a few things. I will never complain, ever. Any pics will be posted on a separate page (tab called Pics at the top) and wont be part of my main blog AND there will be no ticker of any kind.

I would love for you to continue to read my blog but I totally understand if you cant at this stage, Ive been there done that and deleted many a blog. No hard feelings.

Maybe Im also getting ahead of myself because at the moment a couple of sticks with 2 lines and 2 blood tests is all Im going on here and that is a bit difficult to get your mind around, especially after how long we have been at this journey and how badly I want everything to go perfectly from here on out. I want to validate that this could very well be my end, I pray so hard that it is.

Otherwise I feel OK, emotionally I still feel overwhelmed and I find it very hard to believe. Physically, it would be nice to have just a few more symptoms just to reassure me. For almost 5 years I have spent many hours of my day googling many different IF related things. I can tell you many, many things related to donor eggs, IVF, protocols, miracle cure, homeopathic meds, alternative therapies etc etc etc but at this stage I just dont know what Im “supposed” to be feeling. Its all a bit new.

12 comments so far

  1. Leigh from 123 blog on

    I don’t think you need to worry about blogging rules – this is YOUR time – you’ve had a long long road and I’d hate for you to be so guarded that you don’t enjoy it.

    Not to say be insensitive, just be yourself.

    I’m so excited – I felt a thing switch at the beginning of the year and suddenly everyone was pregnant – there is just one more person on my prayer list and then………..we all have babies.

  2. RJ on

    I am struggling with the same things. I try not to self-filter, but I am always thinking how I would feel reading these posts pre-BFP. But we’ve earned this, my friend! By the way, I’m so friggin excited for you 🙂

  3. skrambled on

    I will carry on reading your blog no matter what.I really think you should absolutely immerse yourself in the joys of this news. Worry less about the rest of us and more about you.

  4. MommyInWaiting on

    I will still be here. Your story does give hope that there is light at the end of the tunnel. Also I’m hoping to one day follow in your pregnant footsteps and so reading about the pregnancy will help prepare me for when I get there. So tell us all about it.

  5. lastchanceivf on

    I wish you didn’t even have to think about this stuff, but it’s sweet.

    Here’s a funny thing–your blog is actually confounding decisions I had made (to stop treatment)–because you have been through so much and when you could have stopped you didn’t…

    Keep blogging–people will either read or not, or you’ll realize your audience shifts a bit, but really, you should just blog from the heart 🙂

  6. ttcnot2easy on

    Know where you’re coming from, but I’m going to stick around. You’ve been through enough to get where you are now, and it’s going to be so lovely to watch you grow in this happy space!

  7. peanuttam on

    You know that I will always be here for you sweets.

    I totally understand why you would want to censor things cos as a fellow vet I so get how it feels to be on the other side of a BFP and so do you, we’ve been left behind so many times that it becomes unbearable to hear someone complain about something they/we have tried so long for etc. but in saying that, those of us who love you will understand certain things and be here to follow your progress and share in your joy. Those who cannot bear it for some reason will not read or comment and that is fine too.

    I can also understand your not wanting to get ahead of yourself, but truth be told, you have waited SO long for this and come what may, you need to enjoy every single day right now (easier said than done) but know that you are in my thoughts and prayers constantly.

    Big hugs and love Xxx

  8. Cedge on

    Hey you stress too much. You need to be enjoying this special journey for which you have waited sooo long. Those who cannot handle it (not intentionally) will choose to stop reading your blog. I, and others, will continue reading your blog and waiting for the latest updates. We still want to be part of this with you. 🙂

    That said, it is a good and decent of you to offer to put the pics on a seperate page, that way readers can choose whether they want to see it or not.

    Glad you are feeling ok, albeit apprehensive. Take one day at a time until your scan and then you can breathe easy. You still have lots of support and prayers.

  9. samcy on

    Dee you need to try and enjoy this as much as you can. I hear you about not getting ahead of yourself, but all things are pointing in the direction of you having a baby in 36 weeks! Very exciting stuff.

    And on the days that it’s hard for those left behind to deal with your wonderful progress (as it is sometimes) we can choose to read or not. We’re all big girls here.

    I am praying for you and J and your baby and have thanked God daily for the miracle He’s given you. Definitely puts a smile on my face when I think about you chaps.

    xxx

  10. Bratty on

    Dee, never restrict your blog…this is your blog..your take on the world…and your world is pregnant now.

    You might loose some readers but you will also gain some new ones too…

    Looking forward to your updates

  11. Cindyhoo2 on

    🙂 such sweet and considerate thoughts. But I agree with the others. Don’t censor yourself. Yes, you should enjoy your pregnancy but some parts might really suck. For instance Joey planned to be very zen about her pregnancy but that resolve has been out the window as she has been in utter nausea/vomitting misery. Of course we are still excited and happy– but also a bit more realistic. So blog about whatever comes next. If you are happy, be happy. Shocked, be shocked. And if you are having a down time, that is okay too. Lady this is your experience to embrace. Readers will come as go as they need to. I am still so excited for you!!!

  12. Ab on

    Sorry for the delayed response Dee. Thumbs up to you for aknowledging those left behind and still trying and for understanding if some choose to not read your blog or comment as much as they once did. You still ‘get it’ and your BFP has not given you infertility amneasia which it has for so many before you. Having said that you should enjoy each second of your pregnancy and embrace this miracle whole heartedly so that those left behind can see what lies in store for us oneday when our own struggles are over. Congrats again hun and thank you for the great post! xx


Leave a Reply

