ICLW’ers

Hi all ICLW’ers,

If this is your first visit to my blog then Im sorry that you had to read the disgusting news about my uncle who was murdered in his own home. I guess thats what you get living in South Africa, its so unbelievably sad that our beautiful country is ruled by these mindless souls.

A bit of my story, pretty boring really – been trying for over 3 years now. 3 IUI’s, 4 IVF’s, 1 m/c at 8 weeks. Bottom line we have PCOS and poor sperm to deal with. My eggs are apparently pretty crap, our fert report is never really good eventhough I always have plenty of eggs. Next step – donor eggs. Unfortunately we cant keep on wasting money on my own eggs if they really are as bad as what Im told they are. Here in SA there is no medical insurance AT ALL for infertility, which basically means we have to move on now.

I turn 30 on the 3oth April this year, which is not helping my depression levels, including the death of my dear uncle. I feel like crawling into a hole and staying there until Im ready to come out.

10 comments so far

  1. Shaz on

    Truly sad indeed, I’m so sick of the senseless violence here.
    (((hugs)))

  2. Leigh from 123 blog on

    Hey Dee

    Our anniversary is 29th so I’ll remember to think of you on 30th 🙂

  3. Kristin on

    I’m so sorry for all you are having to deal with. {{{Hugs}}}

  4. Best When Used By on

    You’re really dealing with a lot right now. I’m so sorry.

    Here in the US insurance coverage differs by state, mine covers virtually nothing, so I totally understand the cost issue. When we looked into donor eggs, we discovered the whole process would run about $25,000. Who has that kind of money laying around?

    That’s one reason we went with embryo donation. In the US, the cost is about half the cost of a typical IVF cycle. I don’t know whether embryo donation is available in SA, but I wrote a post today about it, if you’re interested in more information.

    Good luck to you and sending thoughts and prayers to your family.

  5. Mr. Shelby on

    I’m so sorry for everything that is going on. My heart breaks for your family right now.

    Good luck to you.

    Mr. Shelby (from iclw)

  6. Grace on

    You have so very much going on. I’m so sorry about your uncle.

    You sound like you’ve really given a lot of thought to the donor egg situation. I can really identify with the problem of questioning such a big decision. Maybe it is time to just trust yourself?

    And 30 really isn’t so bad 😉

    ICLW

  7. Erica Schlaefer on

    I am so sorry for your loss and this difficult period in your life.

  8. Mrs. Gamgee on

    I am so very sorry for the loss of your uncle. Take care of yourself and cling to your loved ones…

    ICLW

  9. Beautiful Mess on

    I am so sorry to learn about your uncle’s horrific death. Please know my thoughts and prayers are with you and your family during this terrible time. Sending you a hug, hon.
    *ICLW*

  10. Word Nerd on

    I’m so very sorry about your uncle. My thoughts are with you and your family.
    Hugs,
    ~C
    ICLW


Leave a Reply

